January 30, 2007

Don't Kill Yourself Or You'll Go To Jail


Should laws exist to protect people from themselves?

(note: we still need an answer to yesterday's question, we're THIS close to changing the world!)

January 29, 2007

Universal Healthcare Alternative


So, here are the current sides of the health care issue in this country. If you're a proponent of universal health care, you're a financial idiot. If you're not a proponent of universal health care, you hate poor people. Is there a middle ground?

Specifically, is there a way to provide universal health care coverage in a privatized system? So, the premise is that the government would fully fund health care in this country, but they would not run it. The health care system would be run competitively amongst many healthcare providers and players in order to ensure rate competitiveness and efficiency of these government funds. Is this possible?

January 26, 2007

The "What I'm Worth" Debate


The minimum wage debate has struck up again with the newly elected Democratic majority in Congress. And thus, debates among my friends, acquaintances and intellectual inferiors as well. The popular argument amongst my pro-wage increase friends is, "What people don't understand is that increasing wages will increase spending capital and therefore increase revenues...so everybody wins." Me, in my jerk mentality goes, "great, let's raise the minimum wage to $60 an hour." The reply, "Well, obviously there's a limit." "Ok, great. Then, what is it?" my truthfully curious reply. Their retort, "Well, I think the proposed $7.25 is reasonable."

Ok, here's the thing. There shouldn't be a debate about this anymore. If increasing the minimum wage (to an extent) helps everyone, then what is that ideal economic number? This is truly an economic question. What wage helps the most people? What? Economists say that magic number is $0? Those cruel, hateful jerks.

Maybe that's what they are. Maybe they're right, but ignore basic rules of moral decency. But, let's at least look at the cons of raising the minimum wage, and understand that there ARE some before we try to hurry this vote through to "help" everyone.

January 25, 2007

What Do We Stand For


Well, a day after the President's SOTU, the main articles I read are how many times Nancy Pelosi blinked in her new, on-camera chair position as Speaker of the House. So, I guess the things that people stood for and clapped were just for show, and will be ignored once again. It was really interesting to see people look around after Bush said something to see if they should clap or stand up, especially since Bush obviously tried to phrase his statements in a way where you would look stupid for not standing (no tax raises, medical liability reform, etc.) Similarly to saying "I love children. I support our troops." But, what the heck was Dikembe Mutombo doing there? I guess we're still trying to court the massive Congonese giants vote.

On a aside, while I was watching the speech the other night, I was thinking about how despised this leader of our country is. And I understand why, but I guess I don't get why we can't separate the policy from the person. After all, this is the guy the country voted for. TWICE! In 2004, everyone knew who this guy was, and what he stood for...and voted for him again. So, instead of just saying Bush sucks and acting like an oppressed people, how 'bout trying to change people's minds?

January 24, 2007

Sunflower Oil


So, Frito-Lay has started to advertise on all its chip bags and commercials the fact that they cook their chips in sunflower oil. I have to admit, it's clever. I remember thinking when I was a kid that I didn't want McDonalds to cook my fries in vegetable oil because I hate the taste of vegetables. Well, it turned out that vegetable oil wasn't really that healthy for you. And guess what, neither is sunflower oil. But, I guess it'll make people feel better about their food choices. It's kind of like my dad. He wasn't really "drinking", since it was just dandelion wine. But, the whipping's still hurt just as much.

January 23, 2007

Government Created STD's


There's a problem in this country with teen pregnancy and unwanted children. Just as often as there is a problem, there is a solution. The U.S. government needs to start creating terribly destructive STD's that will spread and wipe out the sexually indigent among us. Therefore, the superior genetics of the moral elite will dominate Darwin-style. Just like Darwin would have wanted it. Some will say, "What about people that have sex with an infected person against their will?" In Darwin's omniscience and sovereignty, he obviously chose that person to be a sacrifice for the greater good.

January 22, 2007

There Were Two Trees in Eden


Genesis 2: 8-9 "Now, the Lord God had planted a garden in the east, in Eden; and there he put the man he had formed. And the Lord God made all kinds of trees grow out of the ground-trees that were pleasing to the eye and good for food. In the middle of the garden were the tree of life AND the tree of the knowledge of good and evil."

There were TWO trees in the middle of the garden? Why wasn't the tree of life a "temptation" for them? Another one of those Bible stories that you learn enough times in Sunday school that you skim over when you get to them in the Bible. But, there's some deep stuff there.

January 19, 2007

The Future of Commerce


So, Brent had a very good idea the other day about retail outlets becoming designed more for fulfilling Internet pick-up orders than in-store shopping, due to the high cost of shipping something like groceries to your house. So, let's think this through with a different kind of company: Best Buy. What is cheaper for Best Buy? A) To have several regional warehouses across the country and pay for shipping directly to the customer? Or B) To staff and purchase hundreds of retail locations across the country, ship the products in bulk to the distribution centers, and save on the direct shipping to the customer?

Obviously, this would just be a guessing game at this point, but I still feel like shipping directly to the customer could be cheaper if done correctly?

January 18, 2007

Simultaneous Acceleration


So, a few weeks ago, Justin made a comment as to why when he's sitting in the tenth position at a stoplight does it take him 30 seconds to start moving after the light turns green. The answer, obviously, is that we can't start accelerating before the person in front of us already has begun. After weeks of near constant deliberation on this, I think I may have a solution. What if we didn't pull up 6 in. from the bumper of the car in front of us at every light? When we do this, we don't start accelerating until the car in front of us is about a car length in front of us, and by this time they're going 15-20 mph as to our 0. So, in a few seconds, they're about 3-4 car lengths ahead of us before we can catch up to their speed. However, if we pulled up to a light, leaving at least a car length in between the car in front of us, we could accelerate at the same time and speed as the car in front of us. So, the car length that we give up at the beginning is actually better than the 3-4 we regularly lose. Could this work? Give it a try today and see. Then, we'll figure out how to tip it.

January 17, 2007

Adultery: Unpunished No Longer


Well, people from the good state of Michigan are finally paying attention to the brilliant ideas we stem on this page. In a strange and highly unpopular legal move among the sexually indigent, a legal loophole has made adultery a felony in the state of Michigan. An abrupt change of punishment from having to sleep on the couch to having to spend life in prison may seem a bit harsh to some people, but hey, don't do the crime if you don't want to have to go to jail for having consensual relations with someone from the opposite sex. Greetings from Michigan.

January 16, 2007

The More the Merrier


There is a new study that claims that with every older brother a boy has, it increases the likelihood of the boy being gay by 33%. And a boy with 11 older brothers would have a 50/50 chance of being gay. This study is leading scientists to hypothesize that something must remain in the womb after every time a male son is born to change the chemical conditions in the womb for future male siblings, affecting their sexual preference. Interesting. That is not the same hypothesis that I quickly come to.

January 15, 2007

Presidential Pool


Why does a presidential nomination have to come from such a small pool of politicians? For instance, George Bush Sr. was President. Then a few years later, when looking for a new president, they said, "I don't know. You think his son will do it?" Similarly, Bill Clinton was President. And now, "Hmm...maybe his wife can be President?"

Seriously? Out of 300,000,000 Americans, we're forced to resort to sons and spouses because we can't think of anyone else. What the heck? Why couldn't someone like Steve Jobs run for President? What experience does politics give you for running a country besides running a country like a politician?

January 12, 2007

E-Ching for the Day

"It is a blessing that our memories do not allow us to dwell on our mistakes. It is a pity that this requires us making the same mistakes again."

January 11, 2007

Is There Something Better Than WalMartization


Ok, so I know I already resigned to the fact that the Walmartization of the world was inevitable. But, I thought of something today while listening to an advertisement for Lumber Liquidators on the radio. All the company does is one thing. They sell on-line. They buy in more bulk than Home Depot, Menards or the other WalMart wannabees of the home improvement stores can do, right? So, perhaps, with items than do not require convenient retail outlets, the single product Monopolization of the retail world is more likely than the current 1-stop-shop winning combination?

January 10, 2007

Tonight's Speech Preview


Tonight, George W. Bush will give a prime time speech regarding the situation in Iraq, and his plan based on information obtained or ignored from the Iraq study reports. At 'All Opinions are Not Equal', we happened to obtain an early draft of the speech.

"...Upon arduous study and solemn thought, I propose a time machine. Not only can our past mistakes be remedied, but future mistakes will no longer need to be avoided."

Hmm, not too sure how that's going to go over. But, seriously, what is he supposed to say? With several parties over there that hate each other, what else can you do besides support majority rule? Defend the party the people elected, and give them power to rule. I don't know. Maybe Bush has an answer tonight.

January 09, 2007

Barack Hussein Obama


Seriously, that's his middle name...and seriously, that's his last name. And he admitted to using cocaine. This guy is taking the reverse political route of all of his predecessors, and frankly, the honesty approach is refreshing. But, will it work? For a guy who can clearly talk the moderate talk, he has a higher liberal rating than Hilary Clinton. He can talk the Bible Banger talk, but claims that there may be more than one way to heaven. And why do we call him black? His dad is African. His mom is from Kansas. He's just as much white as he is black, no? Barack Hussein Obama, courting the black, white, muslim population with his name alone. Give him a wheelchair and call it a landslide.

January 08, 2007

Who to Believe


So, I've been learning that I can find studies and statistics to prove any point that I want to make. Convenient for debates, but, unfortunately, my ideology bases most of its opinions on 'what works' and not the 'intention'. So, I tend to rely very highly on critical data to form my opinions. Yet, whether it's supply-side economics or evolution science, I can pretty much find an article to confirm whatever side of the argument I want to believe. So, if we can't believe everything we read and we can't believe ANYthing we read, how can we create a belief system?

January 05, 2007

One Step Ahead


So, Al Gore reportedly came up to Lindsey Lohan at some party last week, and told her that he would be willing to help her put together some "talking points", so that she can make a difference in the world with the leverage that she holds among the youth of America.

Ok, that is seriously brilliant. 1 point for the dems.

January 03, 2007

Design Idea 102


When you go from an apartment to a house, eventually you will need to double your current possessions just to fill the empty rooms. Here is what I have learned from just having completed this. Do not buy high-end things that do not need to comfortable. Tables, dressers, CD racks, etc. Go to IKEA. It is very hard for an undiscriminating eye to tell the difference between a 20 lb. wood finished, plastic bookshelf for $40 and a 300 lb. cherry oak bookshelf for $400. Cheaper, lighter, easy decision. But, do not transition this IKEA/WalMart lifestyle to sheets, blankets, towels, etc. If you have extra money, spend it on stuff that touches your skin.

January 02, 2007

Good and Evil: Part 3


So, Steve brings up a good point. Perhaps people not only want to side with 'whatever side has the nobler cause', but simply 'whatever side is the pacifist'. This still doesn't explain the articles I read about how Saddam shouldn't have been executed, W. should have been; Israel is worse than Palestine even though Palestine has said no to peace proposals repeatedly, and Israel's offensive tactics have only been used after an attack from Palestine; W. is Hitler, etc. The Hitler one completely baffles me. They are free to think W. is a bad guy. But, do they understand what Hitler did?

Don't Approach A Commercial Property Investment With A Residential Head

This post has been contributed.   Image source Investing in any sort of property is a pretty sound bet to make, but please don’t think...